Midi Deux Podcast #112 – Will Azada [Proper Trax]

Will’s got a brand new bag for ya to shake booty to for the end of 2013 with this diverse vinyl-only offering of proper jams for Midi Deux. Two-and-a-half hours of music spanning funky breaks, house, disco, acid, techno, and more. Check it out below:

Podcast #112 – Will Azada [Proper Trax] by Midi Deux on Mixcloud

Blank Code 70 – A Little Techno Mix by Will Azada

Blank Code 70 - Will Azada

This past Monday Will Azada made his podcast appearance for Detroit’s Blank Code series, with a one-and-a-half-hour mix of heated US-based techno. The mix consists of 23 tracks, spanning the gamut of unreleased exclusives to established classics, with a hefty display of Will’s own techno-leaning productions and those of Proper Traxers Alex Falk (Piltdown Sound) and Chris Mitchell. As Dakini9 of Plan B put it on Twitter, “cracking mix!” Proper.

Head to Blank Code’s site to listen.

Will Azada in the mix for Northern Purpose

Will Azada is stirring it up at London crew Northern Purpose, with a new mix of proper heaters and beaters, including two from the forthcoming Proper Trax 004 from Chris Mitchell and Grey People. Jam-packed with 21 low-slung “tech-house” jams in 77 minutes, it makes for a good look into the deeper, darker side of his style. Give it a listen.

Here’s the tracklist for those that may be wondering:

1. Will Azada – Sleazin’ [Unreleased]
2. Washerman – Basement Dub [Drumpoet Community]
3. Amir Alexander – Realest of the Real [Vanguard Sound]
4. Will Azada – Drunk Sequence [Proper Trax]
5. Grey People – Grim Premonition [Unreleased]
6. The Minister – Untitled [Creme Organization]
7. Echo 106 – Native Ancient Ritual [Lux Rec]
8. Mae – 665 (DJ Spider 6651) [EDEC]
9. Sawlin – Techno Dumping [Ann Aimee]
10. Vinalog – Pattern 2 [Relative]
11. Wax – 30303 (Shed o San Remix) [Wax]
12. DJ Spider & Hakim Murphy – Concrete Canvas [Plan B]
13. Analogue Cops & Blawan – Sickle [Vae Victis]
14. Claro Intelecto – Day [Modern Love]
15. Chris Mitchell – Fury [Proper Trax]
16. Will Azada – Pump That Shit [Proper Trax]
17. Lola aka Dakini9 – Shamanic Echoes [Supreme Scyence]
18. Grey People – Land Drum [Proper Trax]
19. Eduardo De La Calle – Untitled A1 (DISCO004) [Analogue Solutions]
20. Will Azada – My Restless Love [Unreleased]
21. xxx – xxx [xxx]

Length: 77m 11s – Recorded at the Proper Trax studio, July 17, 2012.

Will Azada Featured on Droid Behavior’s D-Node Podcast

Obviously, it’s a big news day…or maybe we’re just slow with the updates. Busy making those new joints, yo. But we’d like to spread the word about Will Azada’s latest podcast, this time for Los Angeles-based Droid Behavior and their heavy-hitting D-NODE podcast series. Although Mr. Azada is known for his housier outings with Proper Trax, he’s also getting some attention for his more techno-oriented material. After receiving a smattering of support from Droid’s techno-bro duo Raiz for PROPER-002 and the new shit on Woods N Bass, he was asked to do a podcast for the prestigious label’s long-running mix series, which also features the likes of Chris Liebing, Drumcell, Speedy J, Alland Byallo, Aubrey, and Perc to name a few of the established guys, in addition to up-and-coming artists like Dead Sound, Daegon, Francois X, and Harvey McKay.

This mix is a bit different though. Will focuses on his own material for the majority of the mix, showcasing mostly unreleased techno tracks from his archives, along with a number of remixes and originals from some close associates, and a couple heavy hitters to start things rolling. It clocks in at 105 minutes, with 27 tracks, and rolls around from broken beat electro cuts, to ball-smashing dirty south techno, chilling out by the end with a series of deeper cuts. It’s a good introduction to the other side of his sound and what was previously mostly unheard material. Also featured is one of Vanguard Sound’s Chris Mitchell’s upcoming Proper Trax cuts slated for PROPER-004, two tracks off MYST-001 from Will and Jackson Lee, and a special dubplate remix of “Let’s Get Tight” by Grey People. Big shit!

You can stream and download the mix at Droid Behavior. Tracklisting and extra info is also listed.

Will Azada featured on Paraplan Radio podcast #41

Russian blog and party promotion crew, Paraplan Radio, has featured a live mix consisting of mostly vinyl (with the exception of a few unreleased testers) by Will Azada. Needless to say, we’re honored to be included here, with the likes of Vanguard Sound’s Amir Alexander, Unbroken Dub of Rawax, DJ TLR of Creme Organization, and load of other great DJs. The mix clocks in at 2 hours and 24 minutes so prepare to sit back and getcha groove on for awhile!

Paraplanraddio Podcast #41 by Will Azada

Piltdown Sound mixes for the CONDUIT Podcast

Piltdown Sound's guest mix for the CONDUIT Podcast

Piltdown Sound provides an hour of mixed originals and remixes for Vinyljunkie & 530Techno’s CONDUIT Podcast. It’s a furiously driving mix, layered with Piltdown’s signature sound, and includes the two latest cuts from the Proper Trax Split Personalities II EP.

// Tracklisting //

piltdown sound – sweete [digital release coming soon on herbst und musik]
will azada – dont trip (piltdown reduction)
piltdown sound – bom [12" available thru proper trax]
piltdown sound – toro (acid only mix)
piltdown sound – KS01 [digital release coming soon on herbst und musik]
piltdown sound – rmbl
piltdown sound – ooo [digital release coming soon on bleepsequence]
piltdown sound – otherness (take 2)
centrikal – elephants (piltdown remix) [digital release available thru subsensory recordings]
piltdown sound – flottetnzn
piltdown sound – this one
piltdown sound – doppler [digital release coming soon on bleepsequence]
grey people – mirrors (piltdown dub)
piltdown sound – xanderplatz [12" available thru proper trax]
luis armando – verkday (piltdown redux) [digital release coming soon on release musiq]
tomas rubeck – juicy (piltdown remix) [digital release available thru landed productions]
sys-hex – moral imperatives (piltdown remix) [digital release coming soon on release musiq]